In the beginnning


At the 1920 National American Woman Suffrage Association (NAWSA) convention, president and savvy political strategist, Carrie Chapman Catt, founded the League of Women Voters. Six months later the 19th Amendment to the U. S. Constitution was ratified, giving women the right to vote, after a long fought 72-year struggle.

For over 60 years our League of Women Voters of Baltimore County Maryland, has been relied upon to maintain a non-partisan posture in local, state and national politics. The public has learned it can depend upon us for unbiased information in any election contest. Our passionate, tireless volunteers are dedicated Defenders of Democracy, who put their formidable skills and extensive professional knowledge to work everyday, underscoring the critical relevance and vitality of an informed and active citizenry.

Our value statement emphasizes the belief “in the power of women to create a more perfect democracy."

We believe our government is responsible to its citizens, to “maintain an equitable and flexible system of taxation, promote the conservation and development of natural resources in the public interest, share in the solution of economic and social problems affecting the general welfare, promote a sound economy, and adopt domestic policies which facilitate the solution of international problems."

The fight continues

July 2020

  • Partially in response to a letter from LWV Baltimore County Presidents, Camille Wheeler and Theresa Lawler, Baltimore County Board of Education adoped the Community Eligibility Provision (CEP) school meal funding option which allow elibible schools to provide free breakfast and lunch to all students.
  • LWV Baltimore County was requested to send one representative to help establish "the Baltimore County Adequate Facilities Ordinance (APFO) Task Force to help the County adapt to the pressure that growth places on school capacity and for the purpose of providing a predictable planning environment for the provision of public school facilities by requiring development projects to pass certain tests as a condition of development approval:” The task force will issue its findings to the County Executive and County Council by November 1st


November 4, 2019

The HOME ACT PASSES! equal_housing_opportunity.jpg

With the full support and advocacy of League of Women Voters of Baltimore County and the Baltimore County Voters for Fair Housing, the Home Act was finally passed! The HOME Act (Housing Opportunities Made Equal) addresses a difficulty that some county residents face – being turned away from rental housing solely because of the source of their income. This legislation will open housing opportunities throughout the county by giving all residents – including those with Housing Choice Vouchers – a fair chance to have their rental applications considered.  It does not prevent landlords from verifying applicants’ incomes or checking their rental histories. For working families, it reduces the time it now takes to find housing and make it easier to move closer to work.

Read our testimony from the October 27, 2019 County Council Meeting.